Ready or not ?

    In my opinion, kindergarten is 100% necessary, is educational, beneficial in child development. At some private kindergartens in Cyprus, are welcome even 3 months old babies which do not seem just ok, I’m sure I would not give the baby to kindergarten so early. The first year of life goes too fast and I would not miss for anything baby smell and those wonderful moments spent in that period. But when the child is ready for this step?
    I enrolled her at the age of 2 years at a private kindergarten, near the house in case of an emergency to teleport myself. Very clean, looking very attractive, rooms for activities and a medical office. Not to mention the dining and sleeping areas, I felt like Snow White and the 7 Dwarfs when I toured the kindergarten… the mini sinks, benches, wooden tables look, simply beautiful. I understand why the director told me that all her money is invested there. Well, we started with the short program first but only a few hours daily and everything was ok. She liked the food there, the teachers, her classmates, the activities. The problems started when the program was extended from 9 to 14.
    I know that in the first year is normal and that all children go through it until develops antibodies and boosts the immune system. Yeah, I get that ! But seriously ? Sick child 3 weeks per month ?   Kindergartens allow children to go with a cold, cough and runny nose but not with a fever. Big mistake ! It is enough to be sick just one. When my child is sick, I do not go to the park or wherever to have contact with other children. Well let’s say it’s ok .. a cold. But… after keeping the child home for a week to get well, we go back to kindergarten and after 5 days maximum, we get an infection in the ear and throat. Again home for 10-12 days 39 fever, chills, antibiotics, the whole thing. After this episode, we started again kindergarten and she was ok for exactly one week and then the most terrible period of my life, the infant gastroenteritis. I said I would die, she was so thirsty, drink, vomit, 39 + fever, drowsiness, almost dehydrated, it was very bad. We went to the emergency hospital in that night where they kept us overnight because she was dehydrated and was necessary intravenous therapy. It’s terrible to see a baby that passes through something like this.

    Well let’s say it’s ok .. a cold. But… after keeping the child home for a week to get well, we go back to kindergarten and after 5 days maximum, we get an infection in the ear and throat. Again home for 10-12 days 39 fever, chills, antibiotics, the whole thing. After this episode, we started again kindergarten and she was ok for exactly one week and then the most terrible period of my life, the infant gastroenteritis. I said I would die, she was so thirsty non-stop, vomit, 39 + fever, drowsiness, almost dehydrated, it was very bad. We went to the emergency hospital in that night where they kept us overnight because she was dehydrated and was necessary intravenous therapy. It’s terrible to see a baby that passes through something like that. 
While we stayed in Romania, I tried at one summer school, I thought that there are fewer children and fewer chances to get sick during the hot weather. Well, it lasted three days !
    I would like to say that I was not a desperate mother and I have not grown my child in a protective bubble. I sterilized the milk bottles like any other mother but not all the toys and objects around the child because I knew that the exaggerating protection will lead to sensitivity.
     Where is the problem? So sensitive ? Is kindergarten not for us ?  I really want her to enjoy this step, to learn and have fun with other children…

 

childrens-books-1246675_960_720

 

board-1500370_960_720

RO: 

   Gradinita este 100% necesara din punctul meu de vedere, este un mediu educativ, benefic in dezvoltarea copilului. Integrarea printre alti copii si socializarea sunt lectii importante pentru un copil. La unele gradinite private din Cipru se primesc copii incepand de la varsta de 3 luni ceea ce nu mi se pare tocmai ok, eu sigur nu as da copilul la gradinita asa devreme. Primul an din viata trece mult prea repede si nu as pierde pentru nimic mirosul bebelusului si momentele petrecute in acea perioada. Totusi cand este pregatit copilul de acest pas ? Am inscris-o la varsta de 2 ani la o gradinita privata, chiar langa casa, in caz de vreo urgenta sa ma teleportez. Gradinita foarte curata, cu un aspect atragator, cabinet medical, sali pentru desfasurarea activitatilor. Sa nu mai zic ce frumos aratau salile de mese si de somn, m-am simtit ca in Alba ca zapada si cei 7 pitici, cand am facut turul gradinitei… mini chiuvete, bancute si mese cu un aspect din lemn, nu degeaba mi-a zis directoarea ca toti anii sau banii ei, sunt investiti acolo. Bun, am inceput cu programul 9-14, evident, totul a fost ok, s-a obisnuit repede, ii dadeam micul dejun de acasa, pranzul il manca de la gradi, s-a inteles si cu copii si cu educatoarele, super. Cand am ajuns la programul scurt intreg, au inceput problemele. Stiu ca in primul an este normal si ca toti copii trec prin asta, pana isi dezvolta anticorpi si isi intaresc sistemul imunitar. Da, inteleg asta! Dar chiar asa ? Trei saptamani pe luna copilul bolnav?
   Gradinitele primesc copii raciti, dar nu cu febra. Pai de asta se si imbolnavesc, e de ajuns sa fie unul racit cobza intr-o grupa 🙂 Cand copilul meu este bolnav, nu merg nici macar in parc, sa nu aiba prea mare contact cu altii copii si sa-i imbolnaveasca. Bine hai o raceala e ok, nu dam vina pe gradi sau ca o fi fost vreun copil bolnav pe acolo, ca putem racii oriunde.  Dupa o saptamana de stat acasa, pus copilul pe picioare, ne intoarcem la gradi si dupa maxim 5 zile , infectie in gat si ureche. Stat iar acasa 10 – 12 zile, febra 39, frisoane, antibiotice, tot tacamul. Dupa episodul cu infectia, a reinceput gradinita si a fost ok fix o saptamana si dupa a urmat cea mai ingrozitoare perioada din viata mea, gastroenterita la bebelus. Am zis ca mor, copilul voma de la orice, febra 39 +, somnolenta, arata foarte foarte rau. Am ajuns seara la urgente, ne-au internat si am stat o noapte pentru ca era deshidratata si erau necesare perfuziile. Nu doresc nimanui, e groaznic sa vezi un bebelus ca trece prin asa ceva. 

   Am inscris-o la gradinita de vara cat am stat in Romania, m-am gandit ca fiind vara e mai greu sa raceasca, sunt mai putini virusi si mai putini copii, dar au fost necesare 3 zile.
   Tin sa precizez ca nu am fost disperata, nu am crescut-o in bula de protectie , nu  sterilizam orice jucarie ducea la gura sau orice obiect din jurul ei. Da, am sterilizat biberoane si suzete ceea ce este normal dar in rest nu am exagerat. Stiam ca protectia exagerata duce la sensibilitate.
   Care este problema ? Atat de sensibila sa fie? Nu este gradinita pentru noi ? Eu chiar vrea ca ea sa se bucure de aceasta etapa, sa experimenteze si sa invete lucruri noi.

 

Author: Dazed Muse

I always wanted to put my thoughts on paper, to have my own space and the arrival of my daughter managed to get the best out of me and give me the confidence needed to make myself heard. The fact that I graduated as a fashion stylist and fashion consultant gave me a big impulse, like this my Dazed Muse blog was born, and combining writing with my passions makes a strong statement about what you'll find here. Enjoy and feel free to contact me on any of the social media links displayed!

1 thought on “Ready or not ?”

Leave a Reply

